Blackening Spice


Dinner last night was supposed to be a Caesar salad with blackened salmon. Too late we realized we didn’t have a few key ingredients. Instead of a Caesar I just made a regular salad with Balsamic and Oil.

Michael blackened the salmon with his special concoction.

Blackening Spice

Makes 1 Cup

4 tablespoons paprika

1 1/2 tablespoons salt

1 1/2 tablespoons onion powder

1 1/2 tablespoons garlic powder

1 tablespoon white pepper

1 tablespoon black pepper

1 1/2 tablespoons cayenne pepper

2 tablespoons thyme

2 tablespoons oregano

It’s very spicy!! Be warned!

We used it a lot for different things. Sometimes Michael will pick up an Ahi Tuna steak and sear it with the blackening spice. We use it a lot on salmon.

I ended up putting my blackened salmon on my salad and it was a delicious combo!

For lunch today I made a peanut butter and jelly sandwich on a Sandwich Thin. I’m pretty sick of ham and turkey sandwiches right now. I need to figure something else out asap!

QUESTION: Is there a food item you’re sick of eating lately?

7 responses to “Blackening Spice

  1. I’m bookmarking this. I’m always looking for new combos of spices- the right ones really make or break meals.

  2. I love blackened spices! I rarely make it at home. Thanks for the recipe!! My food is so versatile, I don’t get sick of anything!!

  3. Okay cranberry apple butter…holy yum!!

  4. I’m sick of yogurt, I over did it last winter and still haven’t been able to eat it much. I don’t know why though.

  5. I love the cranberry butter. So good. I put it on everything.

Leave a comment