Email Q and A


Yesterday, someone brought cake to work.

I did not eat any! I really wanted a piece…even just a bite to see how it tasted…but I decided to be good. I planned on weighing in this week for my monthly check-in and I wanted to see a good number on that scale.

Monday during lunch I ran the Esplanade loop. It was supposed to be the only decent day this week. It was a nice run! There was no rain and I actually got a bit warm and had to take my jacket off half way through.

Monday’s Stats:

Time: 33:33

Calories: 462

Nike+ Pace: 9’30

I made sure to stretch a LOT when I was done. I did not wear my new shoes. My plan is to bring them to work this week and try them out in the gym on the treadmill. That way, I can return them if I don’t like them.

I got an email from a reader and thought it was a great question. (I edited it to take out specific details.)

I started last month eating around 2000 calories per day and I’ve been staying 1700- 2000. I usually eat more when I’ve exercised a lot. How do I know when it’s time to lower my calories? My doctor wants me to eat 1,200 a day.”

First, I’m not a nutritionist or a doctor. So anyone starting a weight loss program should see their regular doctor and discuss a plan with them. I can only give my opinion of how my weight loss journey worked for me.

I think 1,200 calories a day is unhealthy. Eating that few calories, how will you have the energy to work out? For me, I ate 1800-2,000 calories a day with moderate exercise 5 times a week. Eating 1800 calories to lose weight, I didn’t feel starving. I didn’t have hunger pains. My body adjusted to eating lower calories but I didn’t feel deprived.

Another point I want to make is about plateaus. During my weight loss I had many, many plateaus. In order to remedy that, my personal trainer and doctor both said to A) change my workout and B) reduce my calories a little. My body got used to eating 1800-2,000 calories a day and it got used to the routine I did at the gym.

To get over my plateau, I reduced my calories by about 100 calories a day for awhile. I began incorporating weights into my routine at the gym. I started losing weight again. Then when I hit another plateau, I reduced my calories a little bit more and I started a running program. All these things played a factor in to the equation of weigh loss. If I were only eating 1200 calories a day, I couldn’t reduce my calories anymore without starving myself.

My suggestion to anyone wanting to lose weight is to cut out processed food. Stop eating out at restaurants/fast food joints. Start doing an exercise program. Count your calories/points/keep a food journal. These simple changes make all the difference.

QUESTION: Do you think 1200 calories is unhealthy?

3 responses to “Email Q and A

  1. I think it depends on the person and how active they are. I’m not really a calorie counter and never have been, but that would mean keeping meals at 300 calories and two 150 calorie snacks. Wouldn’t be enough for me either!

  2. 1200 calories seems way too low. I think going online and finding a BMR calculator would give a more accurate idea of how many calories a person should eat just to maintain. Then they can go from there. 1200 is going to really slow down metabolism.

Leave a Reply

