Dinner and Lost Finale


I live on the West coast so the Lost finale last night was on pretty late! We stayed up and watched the whole thing (recap show and finale) and didn’t get to bed until after 11:30! On a school night! 🙂 I will be posting my thoughts on the finale at the end of this post, so if you wish to AVOID that, skip the bottom of the post!

Dinner last night was filling and delicious. Michael made up the rest of the flank steak from Friday night. What I love about flank steak is that we can use it for fajitas AND eat it like a normal steak.

I made a salad.

-Red leaf lettuce

-Green leaf lettuce

-Spinach

-Cauliflower

-Broccoli

-Croutons

-Chickpeas

-Blue Cheese for Michael

Am I the only one that can eat croutons like they are crackers??

I also baked some sweet potatoes….or so I thought! I noticed right away that they looked different from each other.

I didn’t really pay attention to it. I figured they were both sweet potatoes. I washed them, cut the tips off, and rubbed olive oil on them. Baked in the oven at 400 degrees for about 45 minutes.


Dinner was really tasty. I like the combination of the sweet potato and steak.

Except I didn’t eat a sweet potato. Michael thinks I got a yam by mistake. I have no idea! I don’t know that I’ve ever eaten a yam! So what the heck did I buy??

Potato #1

Potato #2

Any thoughts? What did I buy??

And now for LOST….

Watching Lost

*******LOST SPOILER ALERT*******

In the first season, I was convinced that the Island was the afterlife and they were trapped in it. As the series kind of evolved, I stopped thinking that because the story-lines were just so crazy…But after the finale last night I’m kind of going back to my original idea.

Michael had a good theory, too. He thought that the finale of last season — where the bomb went off and all of a sudden there was a third reality– was when everyone died. So that means that this final season was the only season where they were living in the “Afterlife.”

I liked that theory too. And it made me feel like the story-lines where they were in this alternate life meant that they were trying to find each other again so they could all rest in peace.

I was a big Lost fan from the beginning. I thought the show was exciting and well written. It had the feel of a big screen action movie, but also the feel of David Lynch’s “Twin Peaks.” It felt very Lynchian to me. I loved the mystery of the island. The last season was kind of lame for me, so I was disappointed and not expecting a whole lot from the finale. But all in all, the ending was a good one.

I’m a bit sad that it’s over. 6 years is a long investment. I loved Friends, Seinfeld, the Sopranos and Six Feet Under…all canceled and I was left with a tiny hole. They were such great shows!

I’m a bit tired today. I have a coffee to get me through. 🙂

QUESTION: What are your LOST theories? What did you think of the finale?

8 responses to “Dinner and Lost Finale

  1. All the sweet potatoes I buy are orange. I’m not sure which one you’re curious about but I’ve heard yams are white inside but taste mildly sweet!

  2. I have no idea about the yam theory- I don’t think we can get yams here! I don’t watche Lost, I watched the first few episodes of season 1 and decided right aay that it was no for me! I like a story to have a beginning, middle and end, in that order ideally!

  3. I have honestly never seen one episode of Lost! haha!

  4. I get yams and sweet potatoes mixed up all the time but you clearly had one of each.

    As for LOST, I believe what happened on the island actually happened and the sideways timeline happened in Jack’s mind as he was dying. There are a TON of inconsistencies but I’m not going to worry about those since the writers had clearly written themselves into a corner. (Does the island NOT sink now that Jack “fixed” it)

    My husband and I both agree that Six Feet Under still wins for best series finale.

    • I like that theory! It sounds good to me!

      I want to know why Michael and Walt never came back in the finale! They brought back Shannon and Boone but not Michael and Walt? I want that explained!

  5. They could just be white sweet potatoes. I lived on a farm for a few months that grew orange ones and white ones, but they were both sweet potatoes. The white ones had the texture of sweet potatoes but they weren’t as flavorful and were a little starchier.

Leave a comment