Yogurt


Is yogurt healthy?

My personal opinion about food has changed quite a bit over my journey. When I was first losing weight, I was totally consumed with calorie counting. I chose low-calorie foods that were prepackaged and were serving sizes. If it was low-calorie, I’d eat it.

I ate a lot of the light yogurts. Usually Yoplait–I’m really picky about my yogurts. The flavor and texture has to be just right or I won’t like it. I really didn’t know what “healthy eating” was until I lost all my weight and started running.

Running really transformed how I looked at fuel. I was much more particular about what I put into my body and I started looking at food as fuel for my workouts. I did research. I asked, “Will this help me run faster and better?” Trial and error happened with a lot of food and and I found what worked.

One of the things that went to the wayside were the sugar-packed yogurts. I just didn’t like how I felt after eating them.

Here are some Yoplait stats:

Serving Size: 1 6ounce container

Calories: 170 (about 8% of your daily max)

Calories from Fat: 15 (less than 3% of your recommended daily max)

No fiber

Protein: 5 grams

Carbs – 33 grams  (11% of the recommended daily value)

Sugars – 27 grams (that’s more than 5 teaspoons)

In comparison, Chobani Greek Yogurt stats:

Serving Size: 1 6 ounce containter

Calories: 120

Calories from Fat: 0

No Fiber

Protein: 16 grams

Total Carbs: 13 grams

Sugars: 13 grams


Greek Yogurt is the only yogurt I eat now. I just can’t handle how sweet Yoplait is. Some of the Greek Yogurts are overly sweet too. I usually pick a vanilla flavor.

If you aren’t a fan of yogurt, or want to make the transition to plain/vanilla yogurt but want more flavor, try to dress up your Yogurt with these healthy tips:

  • Strawberries and walnuts. Strawberries add the perfect amount of sweetness, and the walnuts have good fat that our bodies need.
  • Sprinkle some cinnamon and chop up apple for a sweeter treat.
  • Pour the yogurt into half a small cantaloupe and eat the bowl!
  • Try rolled oats instead of granola that’s packed with sugar.
  • Almonds and sliced bananas. Almonds are another good fat that also happens to be pretty filling.

QUESTION: What kind of yogurt to you eat? Do you add anything to it or eat it plain?

18 responses to “Yogurt

  1. I was totally the same way – low cal, prepackaged, it was good. I did Weight Watchers so anything I could calculate the points on was a plus in my book.

    I have definitely have changed my eating habits in recent years. I recently discovered Greek yogurt and love it!

  2. I too only eat Greek yogurt or else nonfat plain if I’m feeling cheap. I love making yogurt bowls with raw oats, different cereals, blueberries or other fruit, cinnamon, peanut butter or almond butter, and then mixing it all together. So good!

  3. I like most any kind of the 80 to 100 cal yogurts, and have found the WalMart Great Value ones to be as tasty as some of the pricier ones (love the mixed berry flavor). I eat it plain, but sometimes enjoy it with half a graham cracker – neat dessert and great evening snack! I’m gonna try some of your ideas:)

    Congrats on your weight loss! I’ve learned a lot on “the journey”, too. I didn’t need to lose that much, but I had decided when I reached the 20- pound mark (which happened recently), I’d begin a blog. Hope you’ll check it out. I’ve signed up to get your new posts, as I’m leading a healthy weight loss group in our community, and am always on the lookout for things to share:)

  4. I stick with plain lowfat yogurt, and I used to add honey or maple syrup but I’ve gotten to like the taste of it just plain with fruit, berries, or granola. I can’t handle the sweetness of the Yoplait yogurts any more either! I love greek yogurt for the protein level but it’s so much more expensive at my grocery store.

    Adding cinnamon is a great tip, it gives it flavor without adding a ton of sweetness.

  5. Great tips! I usually just eat plain Greek yogurt sweetened with fresh fruit and low-sugar cereal or granola. I actually really like the tang that the plain has!

  6. Greek all the way! I never really liked yogurt until I tried the greek kind.

    I usually buy plain and mix it with granola and strawberries and a bit of honey.

  7. 27 grams! WOW! I love Chobani–pretty much all flavors.

  8. oooh I too used to be all about ‘ low calorie’ – but now I am all about ingredient lists!

  9. First I just want to say that I am a new reader of your blog, and am currently trying to conquer my own weight issues over on my blog. I find you to be an inspiration!

    Anyway, on the topic of yogurt. I recently went to my local Kroger (not sure if you have one near you, or perhaps a store in the same company) and read all the labels for the yogurts. I then came across Kroger’s own brand of yogurt called “CARBmaster.” It comes in 9 or 10 flavors, including vanilla, and its got 3 carbs and 3g of sugar, 80 calories (10 from fat) and 1.5g of fat. I know the Chobani has 0g of fat, but this one has 10 less carbs, so I definitely suggest you try it if you are able!

    Here’s a crappy phone pic:

    Thanks again for being an inspiration!

  10. Fage greek yogurt for me…….I agree they all taste so different…I don’t like them with a bite and sour.

  11. I used to eat Yoplait too, heh. Now I usually buy the Trader Joe’s brand or Oikos. I try to look for brands that don’t have artificial sweetners, because I think they can often be worse than sugar– and tend to give me a raging headache.

Leave a comment