Sports Nutrition


I mentioned that I’m reading “Nancy Clark’s Sports Nutrition”. I’m about half way through the book so far. I wanted to share some of the notable things I’ve read so far.

Sports Nutrition

The good news: I already do a lot of the things lined out in this book. (Disclaimer: some of what I will post are direct quotes, but most are just notes that I took while reading. I will try to note the direct quotes when I can.)

The first tip is simple. Create a Winning Eating Plan:

1. Eat 3 kinds of food at meals.

2. Choose foods in their natural state.

3. Think moderation.

Choose Fresh Veggies

She really emphasized whole grains throughout the book. Here are some of her suggestions:

*Whole grain cereals

*Oatmeal

*Bagels (pumpernickel, rye)

*Muffins (bran, corn, oatmeal)

*Dark breads

*Stoned Wheat bread

*Whole grain crackers.

Pumpernickel Bread

Quick Snack Ideas

*V8 juice

*Dried apricots

*Fresh fruit

*Add cranberries/mandarin oranges to salads

*Oatmeal packet

Quick Oatmeal

And she also emphasized PEANUT BUTTER. Peanut butter seems to be the magic food for athletes.

Peanut Butter

Here are some ideas for meals:

Breakfast

1) Banana with a glass of skim milk.

2) Yogurt with high fiber cereal

3) Whole wheat bagel with peanut butter

4) Pita bread with low fat cottage cheese

Lunch

1) Salad with a whole wheat bagel

2) Peanut butter and raisin sandwich

3) Turkey and pita sandwich

*Not My Pic

Dinner

1) English Muffin Pizzas

2) Grilled chicken with brown rice and steamed veggies

Snacks

1) Peanut butter and crackers

2) Instant oatmeal

3) Homemade Trail mix

4) Bananas or other fresh fruit

My Morning Snack

More later! ๐Ÿ™‚

QUESTION: What is your “super” food?

8 responses to “Sports Nutrition

  1. Great advice…….totally agree! I eat “chunky” peanut butter all the time and instant oatmeal (don’t have time for the other before I leave for work). Nice to see I am doing good. =)

  2. P.S. Also lots of fruits & veggies and try to have a variety at every meal if possible too.

  3. I love peanut butter and bananas and also green monsters!! yum.

  4. My go to superfood would have to be banana with peanut or cashew butter. So good!!!

  5. I found your site from another blog I like to follow and I think your journey is very inspiring! I was wondering if you’d be ok with me adding you to my blogroll? I attached the link to my blog to my comment if you’re curious about it.

    Thanks!
    Sara

Leave a Reply

