Portland Hill Walk and Lunch


Portland is a good walking city. Since I work downtown, I get to explore lots of places I normally wouldn’t since I live on the East Side. One of my favorite walks is up to Washington Park by way of Salmon St. It’s a good walk because I can do the entire walk to Washington Park and back to the office in my hour long lunch AND since it’s practically straight up, it’s a great workout.

Salmon Street to Washington Park

It was gorgeous out at lunch today. Since I wasn’t feeling great I took it slow. I stopped to take pictures of some of the beautiful (but unattainable) houses on my walk.

Fancy House

Salmon Street to Washington Park is part of the “fancy” neighborhood (Vista).

Fancy House #2

Steep Road

I think you can tell from some of my pictures how much of an incline Salmon Street is. I showed my walk to Michael and he said there’s no way he could make it up it on his bike!

House at the Top

I got to Washington Park and turned around to go back.

Washington Park

Washington Park is one of my favorite features of Portland. It’s the first thing I show people from out of town. It’s something crazy like 400 acres in the middle of the city! It houses the Japanese Gardens, The Vietnam Memorial Garden, The Portland Zoo, the Hoyt Arboretum, like 40 miles of hiking/running trails, the Rose Gardens, and an amazing view of Portland! Here is a link to a map: http://www.washingtonparkpdx.org/map.htm

Back at the office, after burning about 200 calories from my walk, I am feeling a tad better so it’s time to eat.

Today’s lunch is very bland (exactly what my stomach needs). Smart One’s Fettuccine Alfredo with broccoli florets. It’s 240 calories (or 4 WW points).

One response to “Portland Hill Walk and Lunch

  1. Your pics are beautiful! I love walking in that ‘hood – but please be careful after yesterday’s incident in the park.

    By the way, I just gave you an award! Check it out: http://slowlybutsurely2010.blogspot.com/2010/03/award-for-me.html

Leave a comment