Liquid Diet


Before I get to the Liquid Diet part, last night’s dinner was good. It was back to our “norm” food. Michael blackened salmon:

I steamed a bunch of broccoli. I’ve been craving veggies with all the eating out lately.

It was nice eating food I’m used to again. We had part of a tomato left over and Michael sliced it up and sprinkled some salt on it. I topped the broccoli with Goddess Dressing.

Michael felt like the salmon was overdone and had too much blackening on it but I thought everything tasted pretty good. I usually don’t like tomatoes except on BLTs or burgers (or in ketchup form) but adding the salt to the slices made a huge difference.

My evening was spent reading a new library book:

And working on a project I will soon reveal. I had another sliver of fudge and a glass of milk for dessert.

Fast forward to Tuesday morning. My tooth has been bothering me for over a month now. I was able to get in to see the dentist and he told me I has to have a root canal. Of course I hadn’t eaten lunch BEFORE the dentist, so I was starving by the time I got out of there. I see a lot of soup in my future.

I got home from the dentist/pharmacy and made soup for lunch. I thought I had a creamy can of soup in the pantry but Mrs. Grass’s Soup was all I found. That’s okay because I happen to love Mrs. Grass’s soup.

Nothing like eating soup in the middle of summer!

QUESTION: Any food suggestions for me while I heal from my root canal?

12 responses to “Liquid Diet

  1. Are you reading the Charlaine Harris books from the beginning? If not, you definitely should :)

  2. ohhh lord. i am so sorry about your root canal. no soup in the summer! how about gazpacho, jello, hummus, or ice cream? not all together of course, i was just trying to think of liquid-y things.

  3. The blackened salmon looks great! I’ve been craving green veggies too and actually bought broccoli from Costco today! Talk about a lot of broccoli…

    Slurpees and green monsters for the root canal. Hopefully you will feel fine regardless.

  4. Ouch, I feel for you… I had a root canal at the beginning of this year. Mine actually wasn’t as bad as I thought it would be but still not a lot of fun.

    After the first day I did okay just chewing on the other side of my mouth and avoiding foods that require hard chewing, like steak or raw carrots. But things like salmon, well-cooked sweet potatoes, etc. were fine. Definitely stock up on jello! :)

  5. Soft breads, soups, smoothies. Be careful not to make smoothies and drinks too cold, as your tooth area might be sensitive for a bit. I haven’t had a root canal, but I needed to have a crown done and the temporary part was 2 weeks while I waited for the permanent crown to be done. I just didn’t have anything crunchy or ice cold.

Leave a Reply

