Salmon and Veggies


With all the construction going on, grocery shopping has been the last thing on my mind lately. I realized yesterday that it was desperately needed because I ate my last apple yesterday and it was old and nasty! Boo. :(

I stopped at my favorite produce market near the house and got some fresh produce.

I cut up the cantaloupe when I got home (and sampled a few).

Dinner was an old stand-by: blackened salmon.

I like this dinner because it’s healthy, filling and fast to make. I made a salad and steamed some broccoli.

Dinner was delicious and we watched yesterday’s Tour de France while we ate.

I decided to only eat half of my salmon and save the other half for lunch today.

I usually don’t have ice cream or treats in the house because I can’t just NOT eat them. So that explains why I had ice cream for dessert again last night!

Yesterday during lunch, I walked up to Washington Park (my walking speed is getting  a lot faster and I’m close to jogging!) and I saw this on my way back:

A new restaurant is coming soon! I’m intrigued! I love Pinot. :) And Oregon has some pretty tasty Pinot Noir.

Speaking of alcohol…This Friday is the Oregon Brewfest! So much fun. A friend who volunteers for it game me these:

Yep, those are Beer Tokens! Woo hoo! :)

QUESTION: Does your city have an annual beer or brewing festival? Do you partake?

9 responses to “Salmon and Veggies

  1. I usually go to the Seattle Beerfest, but this year we were out of town – it is over 4th of july weekend.

    I did hear that the one in Portland that is put on by actual brewers is the best one in the NW, so have fun!

  2. We just had a brewfest here in Indy this past weekend, but my hubby and I missed it.

    That salmon looks really good! Too bad I am allergic to it :(

  3. oooh that salmon looks wonderful! We have a multicultural festival once a year that has beers from all over the world. Sadly,I am unable to partake :(

  4. BrewFest is my absolute favorite weekend of the year!!! I’m heading down for a full evening on Thursday (which means I’ll be nice and sobered up in time for Saturday’s early morning 13-miler).

    Enjoy the most wonderful time of the year! :)

  5. I need to learn how to cook salmon! I looooove it, but I’m very, very new to the whole cooking thing, so I haven’t tried yet. Any tips/recipe links?

    • Salmon is pretty easy to prepare. I suggest newbies bake it (that’s what I used to do) if freaked out about cooking it. Bake it for about 20-25 minutes in foil with butter, lemon pepper and a little bit of salt.

Leave a Reply

