Best Carrot Cake You’ll Ever Have


Carrot Cake

I didn’t get a great picture of the carrot cake my Grandma made, but if you look to the left of this picture you can see it. And trust me when I say it’s the best carrot cake I’ve ever had.

Carrot Cake Recipe

2 c flour

1 ½ c oil

2 c sugar

3 c shredded carrots

4 eggs, beaten

2 heaping teaspoons cinnamon

2 tsp soda

1 dash salt

carrots, grated

Mix above ingredients well, then add carrots and mix again. Place in greased dish 9 x 13, not floured.

Bake 350 oven 30 -35 min.


Frosting

¾ cube margarine

8 oz cream cheese

½ tsp vanilla, add after blending margarine and cream cheese

Mix above ingredients until smooth. Add powdered sugar, enough so frosting is thick and easy to spread. Add ½ tsp vanilla.

Top with chopped nuts, if desired.

Carrot Cake

I must say, the frosting is what makes it so so good! I mentioned to my Grandma that it tasted more like a spice cake than a carrot cake, but I still loved it!

A few tips for great carrot cake:

  • Shred your own carrot (store bought is too dry)
  • Get fresh spices
  • Try using a little orange zest in the batter

Enjoy!

QUESTION: Do you have a family recipe that always turns out great?

One response to “Best Carrot Cake You’ll Ever Have

  1. Oh my gosh I ADORE carrot cake! You have me drooling right now!

Leave a Reply

